starkrot.blogg.se

Powershell script to install msi software
Powershell script to install msi software













  1. Powershell script to install msi software how to#
  2. Powershell script to install msi software manual#

In PowerShell, the command line can be reached by typing in cmd.exe and to exit, simply type exit.

Powershell script to install msi software how to#

The Oracle documentation also gives the format on how to run the setup installer with your. The correct format is each custom component separated only by a comma. I figured this out by blind luck, but now I know for the future. This was the incorrect format, double quotes will throw an error when the command is run. The example directly from Oracle shows double quotes around each option separated by commas. The section which tripped me up was the custom components.

powershell script to install msi software

rsp file contains the settings needed for your custom Oracle install. It is possible to install Oracle from PowerShell and with an optional parameter to pass a. The documentation I found on Oracle’s page was and still is, incorrect. The biggest hiccup I had was installing the custom Oracle client directly from the PowerShell script. Get-WUInstall -WindowsUpdate -IgnoreUserInput -WhatIf -Verbose Custom Oracle Client Be sure to run "Import-Module PSWindowsUpdate" first. I found a function for downloading and installing all available Windows updates. I noticed the servers I was given were out of date. $cred = New-Object ("UsernameToServer", $password )Įnter-PSSession -ComputerName $ServerName -Credential $cred Installing Windows Updates $password = ConvertTo-SecureString "IlovePiZZa" -AsPlainText -Force I would not have to log onto the server multiple times when a restart occurred.

powershell script to install msi software

Powershell script to install msi software manual#

I decided to run this script remotely. This would eliminate all manual steps on my part when the machine was required to restart. Before this process, it took almost a whole day per server. The only requirement for the code below is PowerShell version 3.0 or later. I was able to install all the necessary programs in under three hours per server. PowerShell seemed to be the logical tool for running through my list of tasks. As an SDET, I have never done this type of task before, so I googled some methods for automating this process since manually installing each server was time-consuming. I was tasked with installing custom and generic software on a dozen new servers.















Powershell script to install msi software